New Toy

I got a blender today. Because the one I had would just spin and spin and never cut up anything. Time to jot down some ideas, and maybe I’ll remember to look back on them and see what I can do with my new kitchen toy.

I’ve heard you can make powdered sugar from white sugar in a blender. It works, apparently

I’ve got a lot of frozen fruit. It would make a perfect blueberry smoothie. Adding a little bit of yogurt helps to smooth out the flavor and is a great way to use yogurt that’s starting to sour a bit.

Putting a can of diced tomatoes in there when I’m low on tomato sauce or paste can actually make it really easy to just use up what I have. Blend up, then if it isn’t thick enough, transfer to stove for a while. With or without any spices, this is a great idea that somewhat leaves a slight chunk to the tomato, but not enough to be bothered by. True homemade sauce… almost!

I saw a recipe for homemade cream-of soup, and since I’m quite a huge fan of cream soups, I figure it’s worth a try to get it to come out right. Plus, that’s something to do with the celery in the refrigerator.

Applesauce? Apple juice? What’ll come out if I wash an apple and throw it in there?

uh… that’s all I’ve got for now. If you’re reading and have a comment on something you can do with a blender, let me know.

~the blogger

Leave a Reply

